Caprese Chicken

As I mentioned in my post about honey–dijon chicken, which you can read about here, I am always looking for new ways to prepare chicken. I have always loved caprese salad, so I decided to try caprese chicken.

P1060745

First, I gathered and chopped all of the vegetables, which did not take long at all. I then put the chicken and some oil in a covered pan to begin cooking.

P1060729

While the chicken was cooking I sautéd the tomatoes and garlic. This was very simple, did not take long, and smelled delicious!

P1060732

I then waited for the chicken to be done. It took quite a while, about 25 minutes. However, it was no more difficult than broiling it in the oven. Once the chicken was done I topped it with mozzarella, poured the tomato mixture over it, and allowed the cheese to melt. Then, it was ready to be served.

P1060743

This was a massive hit among my family. It was probably my sisters’ favorite meal that I have made so far! I must admit, it was pretty amazing. The cheese was not overly rich and the tomatoes balanced it out well so it taste very fresh. Overall, I could find absolutely nothing wrong with this dish. It is worth noting, however, that I completely forgot to add the balsamic vinegar (oops!), which would have impacted the taste.

Ratings

Ease: 4/5

This meal was very simple prep–wise. The only issue was the clean up. It required several pans, cutting boards, and knives, so dishwashing took a while.

Taste: 5/5

This was some of the best chicken I have ever had. If I could give it more than 5/5 I would!

Would I make it again?

Absolutely!!!

Caprese Chicken

Recipe from The Novice Chef

Yields: 4 servings          Prep Time: 10 minutes          Total Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients

  • 4 skinless chicken breasts
  • Kosher salt & freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 3 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 pints cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 10 large basil leaves, finely chopped
  • 8 oz fresh buffalo mozzarella, sliced in 1/2 inch thick slices
  • Balsamic vinegar, to taste

Directions

 

  1. Salt and pepper both sides of the chicken breasts and set aside.
  2. In a large sauté pan over medium-high heat, warm 1 tablespoon olive oil. Add chicken, cover pan, and cook for about 10 minutes. Flip chicken breasts and continue cooking until the chicken is cooked thoroughly (or has reached an internal temp of 165°F).
  3. While chicken is cooking, in a medium sauté pan over medium-high heat, warm remaining 1 tablespoon olive oil. Add garlic and cook for about 1 minute, or until fragrant. Add tomatoes and continue sautéing until tomatoes skin starts to soften/wrinkle, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in basil. Set aside.
  4. Once chicken has reached desired doneness, top the tops of each chicken breast with 2 slices of mozzarella. Pour tomato mixture on top. Cover pan with lid once more and let the mozzarella melt, about 1-2 minutes.
  5. Lastly, drizzle with a splash of balsamic vinegar and serve immediately.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

