Apple Cranberry Walnut Salad

As I have said before, I’m not a huge salad fan. After my success with the asian citrus chicken salad, which you can read about here, I decided to try yet another. I always enjoy salads that include fruit, so I decided to try an apple cranberry walnut salad

IMG_4692

First I gathered and prepared all of the ingredients. There were so many fresh vegetables, which I loved because it is getting warmer here and all of the fresh produce reminds me of summer.

IMG_4688

Due to some miscommunication with my dad, who does the grocery shopping, the ingredient amounts were a bit off. I had to use half the amount of walnuts, so I used twice the amount of cranberries. I also used twice the amount of apples, because they are my favorite part. As you can see in the picture below, there were a lot of apples in this salad!

IMG_4689

I added the ingredients, including the feta cheese and tossed the salad. I then whipped up the dressing, which was super easy.

IMG_4690

This was a very good salad. There were a lot of different flavors and textures. I wasn’t a huge fan of the dressing, though. It wasn’t very flavorful, so I had to pour a lot on to be able to taste it at all. It wasn’t as good as the asian citrus chicken salad, but it was still quite good. The biggest problem this salad had was that it was not very filling. Everyone had a large helping for dinner, yet everyone found themselves eating more later on at night. My dad had an entire second meal! Therefore, I think this would probably be better as a side salad to accompany a main dish.

Ratings

Ease: 5/5

Because no meat had to be prepared, this salad was super quick and easy.

Taste: 4/5

It was a good salad, but the dressing was disappointing.

Would I make it again?

Yes, though I would serve it as a side salad, not an entire meal.

Apple Cranberry Walnut Salad

Recipe from Creme de la Crumb

Yields: 4 to 6 servings          Prep Time: 10 minutes          Total Time: 10 minutes

Ingredients

  • 6 cups salad (any spring green mix will work)
  • 1 red apple
  • 1 green apple
  • 1 cup walnuts, roughly chopped (such as Diamond of California)
  • ⅓ cup crumbled feta cheese
  • ⅓ cup dried cranberries
    For the dressing
  • 1 cup apple juice
  • 4 tablespoons apple cider vinegar (or white vinegar in a pinch)
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • Scant ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon black pepper
  • ¼ cup oil

Directions

  1. Core and chop apples into thin slices or 1 inch chunks.
  2. Toss lettuce, apples, walnuts, feta, and cranberries together in a large bowl.
  3. Whisk together all dressing ingredients. Toss with salad immediately before serving.
Leave a Reply

