Parmesan Garlic Noodles

When I was younger, my parents would frequently make parmesan garlic noodles as a side for dinner. It was one of my favorite foods. They haven’t made it for a very long time, so I thought I would try to recreate the memories by making some parmesan garlic noodles myself.

P1060723

First, I gathered the ingredients. They didn’t take much preparation, so this is ideal as a quick side dish.

P1060714

I cooked the garlic in the butter and oil as directed, and cooked the pasta in the chicken stock. Cooking the pasta in the chicken stock scared me a little, since it didn’t say to ever drain the stock and I was concerned that there would be a lot of excess liquid. However, after seven minutes the pasta was done and the excess stock was evaporated.

IMG_4565

Next, I stirred in the parmesan. This proved a lot more difficult than I had anticipated. The parmesan did not melt evenly, and I ended up with large clumps of parmesan that wouldn’t melt. I’m not sure why this happened. It could be that a cup of parmesan cheese was just too much. Also, I took the parmesan directly out of the fridge and dumped it in the pasta, so it was very cold. Maybe if I had let it set out a while it would have melted more easily.

Finally, I added the half and half and parsley, and it was done!

IMG_4566

This pasta definitely delivered in the garlic and cheese departments – maybe a little to much. It was extremely rich, and even though it served only as a side I was able to eat very little. It was certainly tasty, but it was just a little to heavy to be enjoyable, at least in my opinion. I think that if the amount of parmesan cheese was cut down this recipe could be seriously delicious.

Ratings

Ease: 5/5

This recipe required very little preparation, and only took a few minutes.

Taste: 3.5/5

It was way too rich for me.

Would I make it again?

Yes, though I would try cutting down on the amount of parmesan cheese.

Parmesan Garlic Noodles

Recipe from Happily Unprocessed

Ingredients

  • 3 teaspoons olive oil
  • 5-6 cloves fresh garlic, minced
  • 3 Tablespoons butter
  • 3 cups chicken stock
  • 1/2 box angel hair pasta
  • 1 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • 3/4 cup half and half (or whole milk)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1-2 Tablespoons fresh parsley, finely chopped

Directions

  1. In a large saucepan, heat the olive oil and butter over medium heat. Add the garlic and stir for 1 minute. Season with some salt and pepper.
  2. Add the chicken stock.
  3. Turn the heat up to high and let it come to a boil.
  4. Add the pasta and cook according to directions.
  5. Take the saucepan off the heat and add the parmesan cheese and stir until completely melted.
  6. Add the half and half (or milk) and parsley.
  7. Add more cream or milk if necessary.
  8. Serve immediately
Leave a Reply

