Asian Citrus Chicken Salad

It is finally starting to feel like spring here, meaning summer is just around the corner! One of my favorite things about summer is all the fresh produce available. To get pumped for the produce, I decided to try an asian citrus chicken salad.

P1060172

I started by cooking the chicken. As the chicken cooked, I prepared the other parts of the salad. I whipped up the dressing, which was super easy and smelled amazing. I then gathered the fruits and vegetables. Cucumber, spring greens, mandarin oranges, pepper, edamame – there was plenty of it. I then chopped and prepared them according to the recipe.

P1060170

Once the chicken was done, I put together the salads. I added the vegetables and fruit, chicken, wonton strips, walnuts, sesame seeds, and finished it off with a drizzle of dressing. I made a recipe and a half, and it made five salads with enough vegetables left over to make another few for lunch the next day.

P1060174

Admittedly, I am not a huge salad fan. In my opinion the vegetables–to–everything else ratio is far too high. However, this salad might have changed my rigid stance. It was amazing! It was extremely refreshing and the wonton strips and cashews provided a nice contrast in texture. Even my younger sisters, who typically avoid all salad consumption, loved it. I think what really drives this salad home is the dressing. It is amazing and unlike any other dressing I have tried. Even if the rest of the recipe is not followed exactly, the dressing will improve any salad.

Ratings

Ease: 4/5

There was a lot of chopping for this recipe, which took quite a while.

Taste: 5/5

This salad was amazing. Words cannot describe my love for this salad. If I could give it more than 5, I would.

Would I make it again?

100% yes!

Asian Citrus Chicken Salad

Recipe from Creme de la Crumb

Yields: 4 servings          Prep Time: 10 minutes          Total Time: 25 minutes

Ingredients

  • 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, pounded to even thickness
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 6-8 cups mixed spring greens (or preferred lettuce)
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 1/3 cup shelled edamame
  • 1/2 cup mandarin oranges
  • 1 cucumber, sliced
  • 1 cup wonton strips
  • ⅓ cup Diamond of California Cashew Halves
  • Sesame seeds
    For the dressing
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

Directions

  1. Whisk together all dressing ingredients and set aside.
  2. Season the chicken on both sides with salt and pepper to taste. Cook in a greased skillet over medium heat for 5-6 minutes on each side or until cooked through.
  3. Remove from heat and allow to rest for 5 minutes before slicing into strips.
  4. Toss together the lettuce, red peppers, edamame, mandarin oranges, and cucumbers and divide between 4 plates. Top each with an equal serving of chicken. Top with wonton strips and cashews and drizzle with dressing. If desired, sprinkle with sesame seeds before serving.
Leave a Reply

