Slow Cooker Sweet Fire Chicken

My favorite kind of recipe is one involving a slow cooker, because you can just throw in the ingredients and ignore it until it’s time to eat. They’re great when you’re busy, and since my schedule has been especially hectic lately I decided to try slow cooker sweet fire chicken.

IMG_4036

First, I chopped the red pepper and chicken and placed them in the slow cooker along with the canned pineapple.

IMG_4037

I then whisked together the sauce and poured it into the slow cooker. I stirred everything together and set it to cook for three hours.

IMG_4039

With 30 minutes left, I mixed together the corn starch and water and added that to the slow cooker as well. I then allowed it to continue cooking until it was done and ready to be served!

IMG_4040

This was a pretty good dish. It wasn’t my personal favorite, but my family loved it. The chicken was cooked perfectly, but the peppers were a bit overcooked. Also, I didn’t think the chicken was very flavorful. Based on the recipe name, I expected something very spicy with a hint of sweetness, but in reality the flavors seemed very toned down. My family thought the flavor was wonderful, however, so it must just be a matter of opinion.

Ratings

Ease: 5/5

This recipe was really easy. There was minimal prep and cleanup involved.

Taste: 3.5/5

This recipe was a little disappointing in the flavor department. It just wasn’t as flavorful as I’d hoped.

Would I make it again?

Probably. It was super easy and my family loved it.

Slow Cooker Sweet Fire Chicken

Recipe from Creme De La Crumb

Yields: 4 servings          Prep Time: 10 minutes          Cook Time: 4 hours          Total Time: 4 hours 10 minutes

Ingredients

  • 3 – 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite–sized pieces
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 can pineapple chunks, drained
    For the sauce
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1 – 2 teaspoons crushed red pepper flakes
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons sweet red chili sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons cold water + 3 tablespoons corn starch

Directions

  1. Add the chicken, chopped pepper, and pineapple to a greased slow cooker.
  2. In a medium bowl whisk together the sauce ingredients, except for the 4 tablespoons cold water and corn starch. Pour the sauce into the slow cooker and stir. Cook for 2–3 hours on high or 4–5 hours on low.
  3. 30 minutes before serving, remove the cover from the slow cooker and set on high, if it isn’t already. Whisk together the cold water and cornstarch, pour it into the slow cooker, stir, and let cook for another 30 minutes. Stir right before serving.
  4. Serve with rice if desired.

 

Leave a Reply

