Spicy Stir Fry Steak

It is bitterly cold where I am right now, and I do not appreciate it. In an attempt to warm myself up, I tried making some spicy stir fry steak.

IMG_4034 (1).jpg

The prep for this dish was ridiculously easy. All I had to do was chop some peppers, cut the meat, start the rice, and whisk together a few ingredients for the sauce. I then cooked the bell peppers and garlic on the stove with a little sesame oil and olive oil. The recipe suggested using chili garlic oil, but I already had olive oil on hand so I went with that.

IMG_4042

I then cooked the meat, which did not take long at all. I threw the peppers back in and added the sauce, then let it all simmer together for a few minutes.

IMG_4045

I let everything simmer until the rice was done cooking, about five minutes or so. Then I sprinkled on some sesame seeds and it was done!

IMG_4041

This dish was an instant hit among my family. The meat was super tender and had awesome flavor, and the peppers were cooked to perfection. The only issue we had with this dish was the spiciness. It’s called spicy stir fry steak, and the name’s no joke. It was really, really spicy. This was without using the chill garlic oil, and had I used it I don’t know that I would have been able to handle the heat. That being said, we just might have low spice tolerance, so use your best judgement if you decide to make this dish.

Ratings

Ease: 5/5

This recipe was super quick and required very minimal prep.

Taste: 4/5

While the meat had excellent flavor, the extreme spiciness was a serious issue.

Would I make it again?

Yes, though I would probably cut back on the Sriracha to make it less spicy.

Spicy Stir Fry Steak

Recipe from Ambs Loves Food

Yields: 2 servings          Prep Time: 5 minutes          Cook Time: 30 minutes          Total Time: 35 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 package stir fry steak strips of chunks
  • 1 red bell pepper (any color)
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1 cup uncooked rice
  • 1 tablespoon chilli garlic oil (or olive oil)
  • 2 teaspoons sesame oil
  • 1/4 cup less sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons Sriracha
  • 1/2 teaspoon cornstarch
  • Sesame seeds for garnish

Directions

  1. Start cooking the rice according to package directions.
  2. Slice the bell pepper into thin slices and set aside. Cut the fat off of the steak and set aside.
  3. In a small bowl, combine the soy sauce, Sriracha, and soy sauce. Whisk until the corn starch is dissolved and set aside.
  4. Heat the chill garlic oil and 1 teaspoon sesame oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Toss in the peppers and garlic. Cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Place the peppers in a bowl and set aside.
  5. With 5 minutes left on the rice, add the remaining 1 teaspoon sesame oil to the same saucepan over medium high heat. Toss in the steak chunks and cook for 90 seconds on each side.
  6. Pour the sauce mixture over the steak, mix well, and let simmer. Add the peppers and let it all heat together.
  7. Once hot, serve the steak and peppers over the rice. Garnish with sesame seeds.
Leave a Reply

