30 Minute Skillet Lasagna

I love trying different, creative recipes. I have had lasagna many times, but had never seen it cooked in a skillet on a stovetop prior to seeing this recipe. Intrigued, I decided to try out this recipe for 30 minute skillet lasagna.

IMG_3961

First, I prepared the tomato sauce. I then sautéd the garlic and red pepper flakes in some olive oil before adding the beef and cooking until done. After draining the fat, I added some salt, pepper, and herbs. My herbs of choice were parsley and basil, but a variety can be used.

IMG_3959

I then added the pasta and tomato sauce to the skillet, and brought to a simmer. I covered the skillet, allowing it to continue simmering.

IMG_3958

Every 5 minutes, I stirred the pasta, ensuring it was always completely submerged in the sauce. After about 25 minutes the pasta was sufficiently cooked and tender. I stirred in the mozzarella and parmesan cheeses, and dolloped the ricotta on top. After it set off heat for 5 minutes, I sprinkled it with the remaining herbs and parmesan, and it was done!

IMG_3962

This dish was a huge hit among my family. It was delicious, though a bit rich for me. I will make it again, but will probably cut down on the cheese a bit. Overall, the flavor was great, and the recipe was super simple. It didn’t quite live up to its name – it took me about 45 minutes start to finish – but it was well worth it.

IMG_3963

Ratings

Ease: 5/5

It took longer than 30 minutes, but was still really easy.

Taste: 4.5/5

My family thought this dish was perfect. I thought it was almost perfect, but had too much cheese.

Would I make it again?

I definitely will, but I will be making some minor changes. Namely, reducing the cheese.

30 Minute Skillet Lasagna

Recipe from Five Heart Home

Yields: 6 servings          Total Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 (28 oz.) can petite diced tomatoes
  • Water
  • 1 (8 oz.) can tomato sauce
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon extra–virgin olive oil
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 pound ground beef
  • Garlic salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 5 tablespoons chopped fresh Italian herbs (such as basil, oregano, thyme, parsley), divided
  • 8 oz. bowtie pasta (farfalle)
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 cup ricotta cheese

Directions

  1. Pour the can of diced tomatoes (with juices) into a 1 quart measuring cup. Add water until the mixture measures 4 cups. Stir in the sugar and tomato sauce, and set aside.
  2. Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add olive oil and tilt the pan to coat. Add the garlic and red pepper flakes and stir for 30 seconds, or until fragrant.
  3. Add the ground beef and cook until done. Drain the grease, season the meat with garlic salt and pepper to taste, and stir in 3 tablespoons of fresh chopped herbs.
  4. Scatter the pasta over the meat and pour the tomato mixture over the pasta without stirring. Cover and bring to a simmer. Reduce the heat to medium–low and continue to simmer, covered, stirring every 5 minutes. Cook until the pasta is tender, about 20 to 25 minutes.
  5. Remove the skillet from the heat and stir in the mozzarella and 1/2 cup parmesan. Taste and adjust seasonings (garlic salt, pepper, sugar) as necessary. Dollop heaping tablespoons of ricotta all over the surface of the lasagna.
  6. Cover and allow to rest for 5 minutes. Sprinkle with remaining fresh herbs and parmesan, and serve.
Leave a Reply

