Slow Cooker Beef and Broccoli

love Chinese food. My favorite restaurant is P.F. Chang’s, and one of my favorite dishes is beef and broccoli. I have attempted to make this myself in the past, but the recipe was very complicated and not worth the effort. I thought making it in a slow cooker might alleviate that issue, so I decided to give it a try.

P1050154

First, I chopped the meat, which was very quick and easy. I ended up chopping it up smaller than in the photo below, because I realized I had cut the pieces too large initially.

IMG_3897

I mixed the sauce ingredients in the slow cooker, threw in the meat, then minced some garlic and added that as well. That’s it for initial prep! It could not be easier, it only took about 20 minutes.

IMG_3898

The only thing that really irritated me about this recipe is that I had to stir the contents of the slow cooker every hour. My favorite kind of slow cooker recipes are the kind that you can throw together and then forget about until you’re ready to eat, and this is definitely not one of those recipes.

After the beef had cooked for three hours I added the broccoli. I used fresh, but frozen could be used as well. I also cooked some rice in my rice cooker at this time.

IMG_3899

An hour later, the meal was done, and it was time to eat!

IMG_3901

I have to say, it was really good. It had great flavor, not as awesome as P.F. Chang’s but not bad for such an easy recipe. There were only a few complaints from my family and I. First of all, it needed more broccoli. This is an easy fix, and one I will definitely make in the future. Second, the meat was a bit tough. I’m not entirely sure how to fix this. In the future, I’ll probably try cutting the meat into slightly larger pieces or cooking it for three hours rather than four. All in all, though, this is an awesome recipe.

Ratings

Ease: 4/5

While the initial prep for this recipe is a breeze, the fact that it must be stirred every hour is a bit annoying. You couldn’t prepare it and then leave it.

Taste: 4/5

Other than the issues with the broccoli and toughness of the meat, this meal tastes absolutely delicious.

Would I make it again?

Definitely! This is one of my favorite dishes, and this is the easiest recipe for it that I have ever tried.

Slow Cooker Beef and Broccoli

Recipe from The Eyes of a Boy

Ingredients

  • 2.5 pounds beef roast
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup beef broth
  • 1/3 cup low sodium soy sauce
  • 1/3 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup rice vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons corn starch
  • 1 pound fresh or frozen broccoli florets
  • optional: rice or udon noodles

Directions

  1. Chop the roast into small strips and set aside.
  2. Mince the garlic and set aside.
  3. In the slow cooker, mix together the sauce ingredients (beef broth, soy sauce, brown sugar, rice vinegar, and corn starch). Then, add the meat and garlic, and toss in the sauce to coat.
  4. Set the slow cooker on low for 3 to 4 hours, depending on the cooker.
  5. Stir approximately every hour to coat the meat with sauce.
  6. At the third hour, add the broccoli. Do this at the second hour if cooking for a total of 3 hours.
  7. At the fourth (or third) hour, the meal will be ready.
Leave a Reply

