Easy Thai Shrimp Soup

I have never been a big fan of shrimp. I am, however, a big fan of thai food, so I thought I’d try Easy Thai Shrimp Soup.

IMG_3202

I started by cooking the rice. I then gathered the ingredients for the rest of the soup. There was very little chopping involved, so the preparation went fairly quickly.

IMG_3197

I then cooked the shrimp. Rather than use fresh, raw shrimp I used frozen, cooked shrimp. That’s what I get for having my dad do the grocery shopping. However, I still cooked it for a few minutes in the pot to thaw it and mix it with the salt, pepper, and butter.

There were some issues involving the removal of the tails. I had never prepared shrimp before and failed to remove the entire tail the first time. After cooking the shrimp in the pot I had to remove it, allow it to cool, and finish removing the tails, causing the entire cooking process to take significantly more time than it should.

After taking care of the shrimp I cooked the vegetables. This was very easy and took no time at all.

IMG_3206

I then whisked in the coconut milk, vegetable stock, and curry paste, and brought it to a boil. While it was boiling I chopped the cilantro and prepared the lime, and unfortunately the pot boiled over. This made a huge mess and was a major pain.

IMG_3204

Rather than add the shrimp right before serving, I allowed it to simmer in the pot for about three minutes. This was because it had not quite heated thoroughly, and was still cold in places. I then added the cilantro, rice, lime juice, and was done!

IMG_3200

This soup was seriously delicious. It was so flavorful, and had just the right amount of spice. I still disliked the shrimp, and only ate one or two pieces. I was told by my shrimp loving family members, however, that it was delicious. They did comment that it was a little tough, and would probably be better fresh. It wasn’t the easiest and took quite a bit longer than the recipe said it should. It took me a little over an hour start to finish, rather than 30 minutes. That being said, I do think it was worth the time and effort.

Ratings

Ease: 3/5

There were some issues, namely the tail removal and boiling over. That being said, had those hangups not occurred it likely would have been much easier and faster.

Taste: 4/5

This was very tasty, and had a lot of flavor. I did not like the shrimp at all, however, causing it to get a four out of five.

Would I make it again?

I probably will, as my mom and sisters want to try it with fresh shrimp.

Easy Thai Shrimp Soup

Recipe from Damn Delicious

Yields: 6 servings          Prep Time: 10 minutes          Total Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 cup uncooked basmati rice
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 pound medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 tablespoon freshly grated ginger
  • 2 tablespoon red curry paste
  • 2 (12-ounce) cans unsweetened coconut milk
  • 4 cups vegetable stock
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro leaves

Directions

  1. In a large saucepan, cook rice according to package instructions; set aside.
  2. Melt butter in a large stockpot or Dutch oven over medium high heat. Add shrimp, salt, and pepper, to taste. Cook, stirring occasionally, until pink, about 2-3 minutes; set aside.
  3. Add garlic, onion, and bell pepper to the Dutch oven. Cook, stirring occasionally, until tender, about 3-4 minutes. Stir in ginger until fragrant, about 1 minute.
  4. Whisk in curry paste until well combined, about 1 minute. Gradually whisk in coconut milk and vegetable stock and cook, whisking constantly, until incorporated, about 1-2 minutes.
  5. Bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer until slightly thickened, about 8-10 minutes.
  6. Stir in rice, shrimp, lime juice, and cilantro.
  7. Serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

